Site icon Thomas J. Daley

VA Disability Benefits as Child-Support Resources | In re M.G. (2026)

New Texas Court of Appeals Opinion - Analyzed for Family Law Attorneys

In the Interest of M.G., a Child, 14-25-01164-CV, October 22, 2026.

On appeal from 247th District Court, Harris County, Texas

Synopsis

Service-connected VA disability benefits may be included in an obligor’s net resources when calculating guideline child support under Texas Family Code § 154.062. An obligor seeking a statutory credit, offset, or deviation based on benefits allegedly attributable to the child must prove the amount, nature, and legal basis for that adjustment.

Relevance to Family Law

In re M.G. is significant for SAPCRs, divorce proceedings, and child-support modifications involving veterans. The opinion confirms that service-connected VA disability compensation can be considered for child-support purposes even though federal law may treat those benefits differently in other contexts. Practitioners should not conflate inclusion in net resources with characterization or divisibility in a marital-property dispute: the opinion addresses the calculation of child support, not whether VA disability benefits may be divided as community property.

The decision also clarifies the evidentiary burden associated with dependent benefits. A parent does not obtain a credit merely by asserting that some portion of a VA payment is attributable to the child. Counsel must establish whether the child actually receives a qualifying periodic benefit, the amount of that benefit, and whether Texas Family Code § 154.132 or another provision authorizes the requested adjustment.

Case Summary

Fact Summary

The parents litigated conservatorship, possession, and support concerning their two-year-old daughter. Following a bench trial, the trial court named the parents joint managing conservators, allocated parental rights, established possession and access, and ordered Father to pay child support.

At the initial trial, Mother did not present evidence concerning Father’s income. Father nevertheless testified that he was a veteran pursuing a disability claim and intended to place the child on his VA benefits. Before entry of the final order, Mother learned that Father was receiving disability income and moved to reopen the evidence because the payments affected the calculation of his net resources.

Father did not file a response to the motion to reopen. At the hearing, he argued primarily that child support should be set at zero because he provided for the child during his periods of possession. He did not otherwise preserve objections to reopening the evidence or to the scope of the reopened proceeding.

The resulting evidence showed that Father had begun receiving approximately $3,974 per month in service-connected VA disability compensation. He testified that this amount was “in addition to the dependent allowance” and believed he received an additional $109 for one child, but he was unable to identify the amount with certainty during the hearing. Although he had sent Mother $430, he clarified that the payment was not child support and instead characterized it as a voluntary gesture.

The trial court gave Father additional time to research whether the VA compensation constituted net resources and to submit supporting documentation. Father subsequently acknowledged that his service-connected disability compensation fell within Texas Family Code § 154.062(b)(5), but he requested a dollar-for-dollar credit for the alleged dependent or apportionment component and sought a variance from the guidelines based on equal possession and hardship. The record did not establish the factual or statutory foundation necessary for the requested adjustment.

Father appealed pro se and asserted fifty issues addressing trial procedure, due process, child support, conservatorship, possession, and the trial court’s findings.

Issues Decided

Rules Applied

Application

The Fourteenth Court first examined the statutory definition of net resources. Section 154.062(b)(5) expressly includes VA disability benefits, excluding only non-service-connected disability pension benefits. Father’s evidence and post-hearing filing acknowledged that his compensation was service-connected. The trial court therefore acted within the Family Code’s express terms by including the payments in the guideline calculation.

Father’s dependent-benefit argument presented a different question. Section 154.132 requires subtraction when periodic disability benefits are paid to or for the child, but the obligor must establish the facts triggering that provision. Father testified only that he believed the dependent amount was approximately $109 and that he received the dependent portion directly. He did not establish through competent documentation the precise amount, the basis on which the VA calculated it, whether it was paid to or for the child within the meaning of § 154.132, or whether another statutory mechanism authorized a dollar-for-dollar credit.

The $430 payment to Mother did not cure that deficiency. Father expressly testified that it was not child support and described it as a voluntary gesture. The trial court was not required to treat that payment as proof of a recurring dependent benefit or as a credit against future guideline support.

Father also requested a variance based on equal possession and hardship. But equal or substantial possession does not automatically eliminate guideline support, and the guidelines remain presumptively in the child’s best interest. The appellate court concluded that Father had not presented evidence compelling a finding that guideline support was unjust or inappropriate.

The procedural complaints failed for a separate reason. Father agreed that the original trial would take no more than three hours, did not request additional time, rested his case, and did not timely object to reopening the evidence or to the limitations imposed on the reopened proceeding. His trial-court objection that he supported the child during his possession periods did not preserve the distinct due-process and procedural theories he later advanced on appeal.

Holding

The Fourteenth Court held that Father’s service-connected VA disability compensation could be included in his net resources under Texas Family Code § 154.062(b)(5). The statutory exclusion for non-service-connected disability pension benefits did not apply to the benefits shown by this record.

The court further held that Father did not establish an entitlement to a credit or offset for the alleged dependent component. An obligor seeking such an adjustment must prove the amount and nature of the benefit and demonstrate that it qualifies for subtraction under § 154.132 or another applicable provision.

The court held that Father did not demonstrate an abuse of discretion in the refusal to deviate from guideline support. His reliance on possession time and asserted hardship did not establish that application of the guidelines was unjust or inappropriate.

The court also held that Father failed to preserve his procedural and due-process complaints. His challenges to the possession schedule applicable while the child was under three were moot, and he did not demonstrate reversible error concerning conservatorship or the allocation of parental rights. Any assumed error in a conclusion regarding limitations on his parental rights was harmless. The judgment was affirmed.

Practical Application

For family-law litigators, In re M.G. should shape both discovery and the presentation of child-support evidence.

Checklists

Proving VA Disability Income

Establishing a Dependent-Benefit Credit

Seeking a Guideline Deviation

Responding to a Motion to Reopen

Preserving a Child-Support Appeal

Citation

In the Interest of M.G., a Child, No. 14-25-01164-CV (Tex. App.—Houston [14th Dist.] Oct. 22, 2026, no pet. h.) (mem. op.).

Full Opinion

Read the full opinion.

~~e9299f5a-ce4d-40fd-b0e9-7048fa517e24~~

Share this content:

Exit mobile version